Speaking with God

It’s quite easy to do, yet not everyone’s cup of tea. If you want to know technically how it can be done I suggest reading The Urantia Book papers about ‘thought adjusters’, or as they are also know – the Indwelling Spirit. For our Indwelling Spirit of God is the vehicle within us through which we can speak to God and God can speak to us.

To speak with God, this is what I do, and you can do it too. Let’s say I want to speak to God as my Heavenly Mother.

But before I begin, I long to God for Their Divine Love. Just long, nothing more. ‘Mother and Father, I long for Your Divine Love.’ I long, yearn, for Their Love without using words. Although, sometimes I do also ask using my mind.

I focus within me on that place where I feel God is. Hmm… as to where this place is I’m not quite sure. It’s ‘in there’, sort of my heart, sort of my mind, sort of inside me and sort of outside of me. Anyway, I’m sure you have your place you feel or perceive God to be, so focus on that.

I focus on it with the intention of speaking to Her just as if She were my mother and always there, ready, able and willing to welcome me, and then respond back to me.

‘Mother are you there, and will you speak to me?’
‘Yes James, I am here, and I’d be delighted as always to speak to you.’

I enjoy writing my conversations with Her, and find having a list of questions already prepared can make it easier to begin with.

So if you write or just speak to God, what I do next is say what I want then wait expectantly for a reply. However, although I do expect and want Her to speak back to me, I also don’t expect anything will happen. This may sound confusing and contradictory, but I expect Her to respond whilst keeping my mind in neutral without expectation – I just listen.

And then I take the first impulse I feel and go with it. A word, usually, quickly and effortlessly, forms in my mind. I speak it in my head or write it down. Then the next word, and the next, and the…

I find I can write at length with Her, but I can only speak having very brief conversations, as She imparts too much feeling, insight, information – light, into me at once, answering my question so conclusively that I need not go further with it, even through She only says a few words. It’s all quite extraordinary really.

I used to want to speak to my Heavenly Mother and Father often, all day long, but then I realised I was doing that as another way to avoid feeling bad. I ran away from my bad feelings wishing instead to side-track myself by speaking with Them. So now I only do it as I feel to, with mostly my attention focused on my bad feelings, so I can heal them by expressing them and uncovering the truth they are hiding.

Speaking with God as my Mother and Father I find comforts me. It gives me another dimension in my life. If you feel you like the idea of it and give it a go, how it will go for you and where it will lead you in your relationship with God, will be part of your wonderful adventure of self and God discovery.

Leave a comment